Morocco reflection 

I knew going over to cultural diligent place like Morocco would have some challenges. Like haggling, tipping, crossing the road, what to wear to be resepctful. IT honestly wasn’t as bad as i thought it would be. The first day i got a bit of unwanted attention but from that expirience i adapted. From walking around i realised that although women had to cover up and stay together a lot of them were working admittedly lower jobs but none the less they were earning themselves. They prayer call was 5 times a day and my naive thoughts were that they would have to pray each and every time. However society in morroco had adapted to modern times. If they were working for example in a restaurant they wouldn’t just stop what they were doing and pray, i assume they pray when it is appropriate for a modern day working life. 

The material culture of moroco is a very colourful one, the peach off the clay madina wall, klein blue of the gardens and windows. We had a lecture on colour before going to morroco where John clarkson explained how all of the same colour can become a grey scale. Although it was very colourful by the end of the trip the buildings became the same tone. 

I was shocked to see the amount of women working, although they were lower jobs or they may not have wanted those jobs at least they were working. But i also dont know what education for women is like it so they may not be able to choose a career they want. I didn’t have an in depth convocation with anyone about this so its just me questioning and assuming. 

I noticed that within the old architecture that windows were concealed so women could see out but not be seen. Which is not a nice thought to me however the central gardens were flourishing, behind the exterior walls the buildings were beautiful which shows they were making the best out of a suituation. However in my opinion a gilded cage is still a cage. The culture of women out in these country is very difficult to me as it shows how free i am . But for most they dont know anything else dont see an issue with it tits how they are raised how life is and theres nothing wrong with that. 

At the start of the trip i was seen as a female tourist and didn’t have best reaction from the locals but after my Fatima markings I received a completely different reaction a much more positive reaction, which gave a me a nice understanding of the place and helped me enjoy my time the a lot more. 

As a maker i love craft, materiality swo to see so many independents craftmans shops within the souks was brilliant. The Goverment shop unsettled me a little bit because the money wasn’t going straight to the maker it was feeding straightin to the goverment which i dont feel is embracing and supporting the local trade like in the souks. I did also enjoy haggling which was a big part of souk culture unlike the goverment,ent shop with its set prices. 

Overall i was very happy i went it was a very big culture shock in the best possible way. I found myselftrying to embrace everything with all my senses and it got a bit overwhelming at times. I was expirience if different values and cultures, it was a fantastic expirience.

Leave a Reply

